I’m most lonely when I’m with you…

I can only blame myself,
you can’t change a rats tail.
I tried to make it work,
you were determined to make it fail.
I try to stay strong for the sake of the kids,
but I don’t want them growing up,
thinking that this is what love is.
We used to be friends,
and then we were more.
And it still hurts very much when you walk out the door.
But what other choices do we have?
We aren’t destined to be.
So keep doing you,
Cause I’ma do me.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chrisdevoss
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 09:02:32

    This captures how I felt in my first marriage. Brought back chills.

    Reply

  2. craziioverlove
    May 02, 2012 @ 09:06:16

    I got sad with this line: And it still hurts very much when you walk out the door.
    Hoping you’ll be okay…

    Reply

  3. Justin Dabney
    Oct 09, 2013 @ 10:39:49

    I wish i could express myself with words like this, really hits home.

    Reply

    • Jennozen
      Oct 09, 2013 @ 10:48:06

      It is therapeutic for me to take all the angry thoughts and feelings, and to sit with them and really find out what they are at the base. Then organize them in a way where I feel I’m honoring the situation and the emotions while bringing closure to the event. If that makes any sense.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

